Interstate Medical Licensure Compact State By State Information

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact offers a new, voluntary expedited pathway to licensure for qualified physicians who wish to practice in multiple states. The IMLC mission is to increase access to health care for patients in underserved or rural areas and allowing them to more easily connect with medical experts through the use of telemedicine technologies. While making it easier for physicians to obtain licenses to practice in multiple states, the Compact strengthens public protection by enhancing the ability of states to share investigative and disciplinary information.

The IMLC is an agreement between 24 states and 1 territory and the 31 Medical and Osteopathic Boards in those states and territory. Under this agreement licensed physicians can qualify to practice medicine across state lines within the Compact if they meet the agreed upon eligibility requirements. Approximately 80% of physicians meet the criteria for licensure through the IMLC.

The Application process is expedited by leveraging the physicians existing information previously submitted in their state of principal license (SPL). The SPL will verify the physicians information and conduct a fresh background check. Once qualified the Physician may select any number of Compact states for which they desire to practice.

Legislation Map
  • IML Member State serving as SPL processing applications and issuing licenses*
  • Compact Legislation Introduced
  • IMLC Passed; Implementation In Process or Delayed*

*Questions regarding the current status and extent of these states’ and boards’ participation in the IMLC should be directed to the respective state boards.

Visit Us

Nashville TN

Customer service Hours


Give Us a Call